top of page
  • Writer's picturejameshward1

Haunting Memories



A simple night of dinning


My eyes catch a movement as they sometimes do


A figure walks across the room


A memory pops into my mind


Same build, same hair, same style of clothes


A lump forms in my throat


My pulse begins to increase


Should I look and wait for you to turn around or pretend I don’t see you


I glance again but still can only see you with your back to me


I turn away should I look again and make eye contact


My breathing becomes more faint as though I can’t get air


I look again but still you are looking away


I think maybe you saw me and are feeling the same way, afraid to look me in the eye


I see you turn out of the corner of my eye


I wait for you to walk closer


I look your way but then it’s not you


Do I feel relief or disappointment


The memories of you haunt me but sometimes I wish that person was you

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page