top of page
  • Writer's picturejameshward1

Arriving in New Zealand

I came to New Zealand not knowing what to expect, but one of the first places I visited was a rather large city called Auckland, it was a fabulous city with very tall buildings, not quite as big as you might find in New York but, they were outstanding. it even had a few things that did look somewhat like New York, but I’ll leave that to those of you that go there to see for yourself.

This was the first site I had of the city as the ferry started into the harbor. Some massive ships were docked there, I’d never seen any as big as these were after I arrived I began a journey walking through this beautiful city, it took me by surprise how many people were there, and from so many other countries, as they would walk by I tried to listen as they spoke to see if I could determine where they may have come from.

The rest of the day seemed to be one adventure after another. One of my destinations was the Zoo, I really can’t say much about it, (good or bad) it was under construction which made it shall we say less than perfect, but when the work is done I may return to see what all they have to offer.

I finally came to reside in a small community called Cable Bay, it has a history of being one of the first places a cable was laid for communication, until several years later when it was moved to Auckland. In the photo above you can see people climbing out onto the rocks in search of Sea Urchins when diving or maybe just oysters.

This is a new bridge they have built near the end of 2019, it really is a very nice bridge with a storyboard and an area for visitors to read a little more about its history.

Soon after I had arrived the pandemic struck, starting in China and soon spread here, so New Zealand went on total lock-down telling everyone to stay home and they started preparing for what was to come. In this photo you can see quite roads and a small playground they closed off to discourage any of the residents’ children from coming here to play.

As they say with every sunrise it begins a new day and yesterday is gone, and for some we are starting a new way of life.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page