top of page
  • Writer's picturejameshward1

Shooting The Moon

I remember a story my grandfather told me once

He and my mother were outside one night when she was just a young girl

Grandfather had a tracer bullet (it leaves a trail of its path)

He said to her watch this I’m going to shoot the moon

When he made the shot she could see the path heading upwards towards the moon

She began to cry

When the bullet was out of sight and the path no longer visible

Grandfather held my mother close and told her he could never do that

He told her one day he would be in heaven and the moon would be there shining down on her so he could always see her

She grabbed grandfather and told him she loved him and to this day she remembers that night and when she’s outside at night she looks toward the moon and says hello dad

Dedicated to my mother

Marsha Hamilton

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page