top of page
  • Writer's picturejameshward1

Living with a Killer

Coping with day to day life while living with a killer, this sentence may shock you, but for so many it is exactly what they and some of you are doing, the name of this killer is STRESS!

I do talk about this subject from time to time but since I myself have recently had a battle with it that led me to a stay in the hospital, I thought it might be time to look into this again and maybe even go a little deeper.

(Anxiety) This is one symptom caused directly from stress!

Anxiety is your body’s natural response to stress. It’s a feeling of fear or apprehension about what’s to come. Intense, excessive, and persistent worry and fear about everyday situations. The cardiovascular system is affected by anxiety, causing a fast heart rate, palpitations, and chest pain. You may also be at an increased risk of high blood pressure and heart disease. If you already have heart disease, anxiety disorders may raise the risk of coronary events. This is what happened to me just a short time ago, to be honest, I never felt anxious or bothered in any way, but I nor anyone else can really know what the subconscious is doing or how it may be processing the things we keep in the back of our minds. Anxiety is a form of a mental health disorder and can cause depression, social anxiety, compulsive behavior, along with many others if it’s not treated. I’m NOT saying it’s a mental illness, but it is a disorder and should be taken seriously.

Panic attacks are caused by Anxiety! They can imitate a heart attack which only makes the feeling worse, I use to suffer from these quite often but I learned how to control them and then dismiss them completely, this is one reason I felt I no longer had anxiety, but again we don’t understand how the mind can keep processing things that we consciously ignore or simply don’t think the things on our minds are stressing us.

As you can see from this chart depression and anxiety can and do cause a variety of symptoms ranging from simple symptoms to some very severe. If you have any of these symptoms I would seek a doctor’s advice, you may not think you need a doctor or medication and that may be true, but until you see one then you really don’t know and are taking a chance that’s just not worth taking.

For myself, I was given medication, but I also decided to try and take things into my own hands and just see what I might be able to do for myself. I started thinking about what changes may have occurred recently in my everyday life, whether it was diet, habits, etc. I found that in fact there had been several changes I had made, some intentionally and some not, so I then thought about what might be the more direct changes I’ve made that might be causing this and decided to work on them first.

I found what I believe to be my one and BIGGEST reason for what was happening to me, out of all the things I was taking care of whether they were so small I didn’t give them much thought or the bigger situations, I had completely forgotten to have an outlet. The things I use to do to relax or just for fun were somehow discarded from my life. In the event of taking care of all the things I needed to be done, I had forgotten to take care of the most important one (ME). So not only is blogging and writing a way to help others or be there for others, it really is one of my best outlets. That along with some of the other hobbies that I have reinvented back into my life.

If you have any of the symptoms, I’ve shown here I beg you to please seek help from a doctor, friend, or family member. Stress really is the silent killer that some of us live with! And never forget the most important thing that you need to take care of…(YOU)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page